Skip to content

Look Sir, auctions

February 5, 2013

Next up on the auction block is the 2004 Silver Saga Edition Sandtrooper.

IMG_2923_zps7d73c348

These guys were the third in a series that wasn’t really a series.  In 2002 I picked up some figures at the nearest Toys R Us.  Because I bought so many I got a free Silver Anniversary silver R2-D2.  I was of course stupefied because I had no idea they were even doing this.  But I hung on to him for the novelty.  A year later Hasbro announces a Sliver Edition Convention Exclusive figure.  They made a ton of these, the catch was you had to go to a convention to pick them up for $10, or go to eBay for $30-$40.  Fortunately eBay prices dropped towards the end of convention season because the market was flooded with people trying to score.  Oh yeah, which character?  Boba Fett.  Bought 2.  Had to eBay it since the convention circuit here in CNY isn’t very hoppin.

They followed it up in ’04 with the sandtrooper which I also picked up two of, but I lost interest.  I later learned that there was a Clone Trooper as part of the ’03 line, and a Darth Vader in ’04, both were store exclusives I believe.    There was a Sliver Anniversary line of figures, but these 5 were, to the best of my knowledge, the only figures that were actually produced silver.

Interesting note on the Fett figure, from the neck down the figure appears to be the same sculpt as the 300th Figure version of Boba Fett, but for some reason the helmet seems to be a different sculpt.  (more on this later).

So the Sandtroopers are off to a new owner in a week or so.  I’m keeping Boba Fett for the obvious reason, and keeping R2 because he’s my wife’s favorite, and my daughter is starting to key in on him too.  (no complaints there)

R2-D2 Silver Fett

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment